How do I change participant roles within a site?

Anyone in the Instructor or Secondary Instructor role in a course site, or the Owner or Administrator role in a collaboration site, can change the roles of other participants in the site.

Tip: An instructor may give a teaching assistant additional permissions in their site by changing the teaching assistant's role from Teaching Assistant to Secondary Instructor.

Video Guide

Step-by-Step Instructions

Go to Site Settings.

Select Site Settings from the Tool Menu in your site.

Change the role from the drop-down menu in the list of enrolled participants.

Scroll down on the page, below your site's information, to find the Participant List.

  1. For each participant whose role you want to change, select the appropriate role from the drop-down menu under the Role column.
  2. Select Update Participants to save your changes.