UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationSite Tools Tests & QuizzesHow do I share or revoke access to a question pool?

How do I share or revoke access to a question pool?

By default, only you will be able to access the question pools you create, but you can share your question pools with other instructors or administrators in a site where you can create assessments.

When a question pool is shared with you, you can access the pool from any site where you have permission to create assessments.

For steps to share or revoke access to a question pool, see below:

For more information about question pools, see What is a question pool?

Go to Tests & Quizzes.

Select the Tests & Quizzes tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Select the Question Pools tab.

Select Share.

Under the name of the pool, select Share.

Grant access.

  1. Site participants with whom you can share the question pool are listed under Site Members without access to [Pool Name], where [Pool Name] is the name of your question pool.  In the Grant Access column, select the check box(es) for the individual(s) with whom to share the pool.
  2. At the bottom of the page, select Update.

Anyone with whom you share the pool is an author.

The other participant is an author.

Your pool will now be available in the Question Pools list of each person with whom you shared it and they have full editing privileges in the question pool.  However, they cannot delete your pool or share it with anyone else.

For someone who has been granted access to a pool:

  1. The shared pool and the questions in it can be edited by clicking on its name.
  2. The Owner column displays the pool owner's name.  The pool owner can revoke access to their pool at any time (see below for how to revoke access).
  3. The person who has been granted access to the pool can Copy the whole pool or some of its questions to another pool, or remove the shared pool from their own Question Pools list by selecting Remove me.

Tip: If you want to share a question pool but are afraid of the sharing recipient modifying or deleting your questions, copy the question pool first and share the new copy of the pool.

Revoke access to a question pool.

The owner of a shared question pool can remove other people from it at any time.

Select Share.

Under the name of the pool, select Share.

Revoke access.

  1. Site participants with whom the question pool is shared are listed under Site Members with access to [Pool Name], where [Pool Name] is the name of your question pool.  In the Revoke access column, select the check box(es) for the individual(s) with whom to stop sharing the pool.
  2. At the bottom of the page, select Update.

Note: Some people with access to a question pool might not be instructors in the current site.

Unlike assessments in Tests & Quizzes, which are stored in specific UVACollab sites, you can view question pools in any site where you have an administrative role (i.e., Instructor, Secondary Instructor, or Teaching Assistant in a course site, Owner or Administrator in a collaboration site).

This means that if you share a question pool via Tests & Quizzes in one UVACollab site, then you access the same question pool via a different UVACollab site, some people with access to the pool may be listed with a different Role than an administrative role. For example:

  1. You might have a Teaching Assistant (TA) with whom you share a question pool in one of your course sites.  Your TA is also a student taking another class you teach.  You access the question pool in the site where the TA is a student.  In the Role column, Student displays.
  2. If you shared a question pool with someone who is not a member of the UVACollab site from which you have currently accessed the pool, that person will be listed with the role of anonymous_access.