How do I use groups?

Groups are subsets of participants for a given worksite in UVACollab. Groups can be created on an ad hoc basis by instructors in course sites or by owners or administrators in collaboration sites. Groups are useful to organize study groups, project teams, and other non-official subsets of worksite participants. In course sites, each course roster section behaves like a group. i.e., group-aware tools recognize the section as a group.

You can use groups to make site content available to specific site participants.  For example, a private announcement can be made available to a group and email notification can be sent to members of that group.  You can also use groups to create group assignments, or limit access to a test or quiz with settings for specific groups.

For information on creating and editing groups, see How do I create groups?

WARNING: If an assignment or assessment has been released to groups, changing which groups have access to the assignment, or modifying or deleting a group after students have begun work on the assignment or assessment can result in the loss of submissions!

Video Guide

Step-by-Step Instructions

Which tools use groups?

You can use groups with the tools listed below.  The descriptions of how groups can be used are linked to Help articles that show how to enable group access.

Announcements

Screenshot shows Access settings for an announcement. The "Display this announcement to select groups only" radio button is selected. In the group selection dropdown menu, "Group 1" is selected. Graphic link opens modal with larger image. Press Escape to exit modal.
Assignments
Screenshot shows the Assign To settings for an assignment. The "Each individual member of the selected group(s)" radio button is selected. In the group selection dropdown menu, "Group 1" is selected. Graphic link opens modal with larger image. Press Escape to exit modal.

WARNING: If an assignment has been created as a group assignment or released to groups, changing the groups who can submit it, or modifying or deleting a group after students have begun work on the assignment can result in the loss of submissions!

Tests & Quizzes
Screenshot shows the Availability and Submissions settings for an assessment in the Tests & Quizzes tool. Next to “Who can access this assessment?,” “Each member of the selected group(s)” is selected. Below, the group selection menu is expanded and the checkboxes for two groups are selected. Graphic link opens modal with larger image. Press Escape to exit modal.

WARNING: If an assessment has been released to groups, modifying or deleting a group after students have begun work on the assessment can result in the loss of submissions!

Site Settings
Screenshot shows the navigation menu for the Site Settings tool. The “Manage Groups” link is highlighted. Graphic link opens modal with larger image. Press Escape to exit modal.

WARNING: If an assignment or assessment has been released to groups, changing which groups have access to the assignment, or modifying or deleting a group after students have begun work on the assignment or assessment can result in the loss of submissions!