How do I control site access?

In most cases, you'll want to simply accept the default access settings that a) make your site available (published) and b) restrict access to only the individuals you add to the site yourself. However, modifying your site access configuration is possible using these features.

Video Guide

Step-by-Step Instructions

Go to Site Info.

Select the Site Info tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Click Manage Access.

Manage Access tab

Select your Site Status (i.e published or unpublished).

Published sites are available to all site participants.  If the site is left as draft, or unpublished, only instructors/site administrators may access it.

Select your Site Visibility setting.

If site visibility is set to Display in Site Browser, anyone may search for your site from the Site Browser on the UVACollab Gateway and view certain content in the site that is set to Public access, e.g., items in  Announcements, Resources, Syllabus can be set to public access.  

If set to Do not display in Site Browser (the default), your site will not appear in the Site Browser list.

Select your Global Access setting.

In most cases, site owners keep the default value for Limited to whom I add manually, or through automatic roster updates. This will restrict access to people that you manually add or that are enrolled automatically by roster data from the Student Information System (SIS).

If Allow anyone to join the site with valid login id is selected, *anyone* with an account in UVACollab (UVA participants and non-UVA guest accounts) may search for and join your site.

INSTRUCTORS: In most cases, instructors should not configure a course site to be joinable. Doing so does not enroll a student in your course and is not the sanctioned method for making course sites available to students. Instead, an official class roster from SIS should be added to the site to give officially enrolled students access to it.

Update to save changes.

At the bottom of the page, click Update.