UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationSite Tools GradebookHow do I edit or delete a gradebook item?

How do I edit or delete a gradebook item?

Edit a gradebook item to make changes to its original settings.  For example, you can change whether an item's grades are released (available) to students, or assign an item to a category to include it in the course grade calculation.

Delete a gradebook item to permanently remove the item and all associated grades.

Note: Those in the Teaching Assistant role in course sites do not have permission to edit or delete gradebook items.

Video Guide

Step-by-Step Instructions

Go to Gradebook.

Select the Gradebook tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Edit item details.

Select the down arrow icon (Open menu for [item title] column), then Edit Item Details.

In the example pictured above, Quiz 1 is being edited.

Edit the gradebook item.

In the Edit Gradebook Item window:

  1. Make the desired changes.
  2. Save Changes.

In the example pictured above, an instructor selects Quizzes (30%) from the Category menu to assign Quiz 1 to that category and include the quiz in the course grade calculation.

Note: Titles, point values, and due dates of assignments or assessments added to the Gradebook from Assignments, Tests & Quizzes, or Lessons must be edited within the tool of origin. For more information, see: How do I add and edit gradebook items from Assignments, Tests & Quizzes, or Lessons?

View edited item.

You will be returned to the Grades page with the edited item displayed.

Delete a gradebook item.

Select the down arrow icon (Open menu for [item title] column), then Delete Item.

Note: The Delete Item option is not available for items added to the Gradebook from Assignments, Tests & Quizzes, or Lessons. For information about removing these items, see: How do I add and edit gradebook items from Assignments, Tests & Quizzes, or Lessons?

Confirm deletion.

  1. In the Delete Item window, note the warning: Please be aware that deleting this Gradebook item cannot be undone and scores entered will be removed from the gradebook.
  2. If you are sure you want to permanently delete the item and all associated scores, select Delete to confirm.

View Gradebook.

You will be returned to the Grades page with the deleted item no longer available.