UVACollab HelpRecent Updates

Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Mar 14, 2019

    What is a joinable site?

    Manual For Students
  • Updated on: Mar 14, 2019

    What is a joinable site?

    When sites are created in UVaCollab, the owner creating the site has the option to make the site joinable on the Set Site Access screen during site creation or on the Site Info > Manage Access screen in an existing site.  Anyone with a UVaCollab account can add themselves to a joinable site.

    Site owners or administrators must make the decision whether or not to make the site joinable and choose a role for those who join.

    INSTRUCTORS: In most cases, instructors should NOT configure a course site to be joinable. Doing so does not enroll a student in your course and is not the sanctioned method for making course sites available to students. Instead, an official class roster from SIS should be added to the site to give officially enrolled students access to it. Refer to How to create a course site: Select one or more rosters to add to your site for adding a roster during site creation, or How do I add a class roster? to add a roster to an existing site.

    Teaching Assistants who are not on the SIS class roster and guest lecturers may be manually added to a course site using the steps in How do I manually add people to my site?

    For information about joining sites, see How do I join a site?

  • If you have the appropriate permissions to create new course or collaboration sites, you may do so from either Worksite Setup in My Workspace or the More Sites tab.

  • The reset button returns you to the starting point of the tool you're using, as if you had entered the tool in a new session.

  • Manual For Students
  • Your Account details include your User Id, Name, Email, and Password for UVaCollab.  In most cases, this information is automatically populated when you are added to a UVaCollab site.  People with Guest logins can change their log in password and update their name and email address if desired.  

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Mar 12, 2019

    How do I create groups?

    Groups are subsets of participants for a given worksite in UVaCollab. Groups can be created on an ad hoc basis by instructors in course sites or by owners or administrators in collaboration sites. Groups are useful to organize study groups, project teams, and other non-official subsets of worksite participants. In course sites, each course roster section behaves like a group. i.e., group-aware tools recognize the section as a group.

    You may create groups in your site in several different ways:

    • Manually create and assign users to a group.
    • Create joinable groups that site participants can elect to join.
    • Automatically generate groups by user role, number of groups per site, or number of users per group.
    • Import group information from a file.

    WARNING: If an assignment or assessment has been released to groups, changing which groups have access to the assignment, or modifying or deleting a group after students have begun work on the assignment or assessment can result in the loss of submissions!

    Note:

    • By default, those in the Teaching Assistant role in a site cannot create groups.  If you are an instructor who would like for Teaching Assistants to be able to create groups in your site, please contact collab-support@virginia.edu and let us know the name of the site where you would like this permission added.
    • Each SIS course roster is treated as a group; you do not need to create a group for your roster.
    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Mar 12, 2019

    Guest (Non-UVA) Passwords

    Manual For Students
  • Updated on: Mar 12, 2019

    Guest (Non-UVA) Passwords

    The first time a site owner or administrator manually adds someone to a UVaCollab site using a non-UVa email address, a new participant password notification is automatically generated by the system and sent to the specified non-UVa email address.

    Note: Password notifications to some non-UVa email services may be filtered to the Junk Mail or Spam folder. Non-UVa participants may need to check these folders for their password notification message if they don't find the notice in their Inbox.