UVACollab HelpRecent Updates

Recent Updates

  • Manual For Students
  • Manual Communication
  • Updated on: Jan 19, 2022

    How do I export and import assessments?

    The export and import operations allow you to download an assessment created in the Tests & Quizzes tool into an external file (Export), and to upload from such an external file, or a format-compliant file obtained elsewhere, into an assessment (Import).  The file comprises the entire assessment, including its Title, Settings, questions, and other options.

    Two export formats are available, IMS QTI-compliant XML and IMS Content Packaging.  Content Packaging will capture links and attachments in your questions and package the file as a .zip file; you must transfer links and attachments yourself if you use QTI v 1.2.  Both formats create an XML file of your questions with all the components labeled according to IMS standards.

    Tip: Many publishers provide test bank cartridges in IMS format. You may want to use this option if you are importing questions provided by your textbook publisher.

  • Updated on: Jan 19, 2022

    How do I export and import assessments?

    Manual Site Tools
  • If you manually added participants to your site, you can also remove them.

    Students, instructors, or teaching assistants added to sites via official roster data from the Student Information System (SIS) cannot be manually removed. Instead, enrollment changes made in SIS will be reflected in course rosters in UVaCollab course sites after an overnight update. For example, a currently enrolled student who withdraws from a course in SIS today will automatically be removed from the roster in the associated UVaCollab course site the next day (following an overnight update).  If you would like to prevent a roster-added participant from accessing your site and receiving email notifications from it, you can set their status to Inactive.

    Note: UVaCollab does not destructively delete user data when removing users from a site. Therefore, if you remove a user from your site, and then later reinstate that user, all of the their activity within the site will reappear once you add them back into the site.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Note: Due to privacy restrictions, information contained in the Roster tool is restricted to site participants in the Instructor, Secondary Instructor, Teaching Assistant, Owner, or Administrator roles. (Access to official photos is further restricted to participants listed in SIS as instructors, secondary instructors, or teaching assistants for rosters containing those photos.)

    Participants in the Student, Member, or Observer roles have no access to any of this information. By default, the tool is hidden in sites created using the site templates, meaning that students will not see the tool in the tool menu. Even if the tool is unhidden, students, members, or observers will see a blank page after clicking on the link.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Jan 17, 2022

    How do I set up my profile?

    Manual For Students
  • Updated on: Jan 17, 2022

    How do I set up my profile?

    The Profile tool contains basic user information, including the user's name and email address, as well as other optionally displayed information.  

    In addition to basic user information such as name and email address, the Profile tool may include optional information such as users' photos, basic information, contact information, social networking information (e.g., Twitter integration), connections, notification preferences, status messages, and privacy settings.  All of these fields are optional.