How do I delete a site I created?

If you are an Instructor (in a course site) or an Owner (in a collaboration site), you can softly delete the site.

Soft deletion means the site can be restored for up to a year past the deletion date, after which it will be permanently deleted and unrecoverable.

The decision to softly delete a site should be considered very carefully because deleting it will prevent access to and use of the site by others.

Important: If someone else created a site or it is still in use by others in the site (even if you created it), you should not delete it.  Instead, you should hide it from your active sites by following the steps to hide the site in What is the Preferences tool?

Go to Worksite Setup in your Home site.

Select the Worksite Setup tool from the Tool Menu in your Home site.

Locate the site to delete.

  1. In the Search box, enter at least part of the title of the site you want to delete.
  2. Select Search.

Select and delete the site.

  1. Check the box for the site to delete.
  2. Select the Delete button.

Confirm deletion.

You will be prompted to confirm deleting the selected site.  Select Mark for deletion to confirm.