UVACollab HelpRecent Updates

Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Dec 12, 2019

    How do I delete a topic?

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Dec 12, 2019

    How do I create a topic?

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Apr 06, 2018

    What is the Waitlisted Student role?

    When students attempt to enroll in a course that has reached maximum capacity, they are placed on a waitlist. Many times, students wish to attend lectures, complete assignments and assessments, and participate in a course in other ways while on the waitlist, so that they will not fall behind if they are able to fully enroll in the course before the end of the add/drop period.

    Instructors may utilize the Waitlisted Student role by adding the entire waitlist as a roster, or by adding individual students to their course sites with the role. Both options allow waitlisted students to access resources and complete tasks in the site until they transition from the waitlist into full enrollment in the course, or the add/drop period comes to a close. Adding a waitlist roster allows instructors to add all waitlisted students to their course sites automatically, and removes remaining waitlisted students at the end of the add/drop period.

    Students in the Waitlisted Student role have the same default permissions as students in the Student role, meaning that they can complete the same tasks, and be evaluated in the same ways, as fully enrolled students. For example, waitlisted students can:

    • Access text content (e.g., readings in the Resources folder; topics and posts in the Forums tool; etc.)
    • Access multimedia content (e.g., video or audio files in the Kaltura Media Gallery tool)
    • Access, complete, and submit assignments and assessments in the Assignments and Tests & Quizzes tools
    • Participate in discussions in the Forums and Discussion and Private Messages tools
    • Edit collaborative documents in the Wiki, Wiki (Confluence), and NowComment tools
    • Receive grades
    • Receive messages sent to the site email address

    When waitlists expire at the end of the add/drop period, any waitlisted students added to course sites via waitlist rosters who are still on the waitlist (i.e., waitlisted students who have not fully enrolled in the course) will be removed from those course sites.

    Note that adding and removing waitlisted students in course sites does not replace the process for managing wait lists and permission lists in the Student Information System (SIS).

  • In addition to adding all waitlisted students to course sites via waitlist rosters, instructors may manually add individual students to course sites in the Waitlisted Student role. By default, students in the Waitlisted Student role have the same permissions as students in the Student role.

    Note that unlike students added via waitlist rosters, individual students manually added to course sites in the Waitlisted Student role will not be automatically removed from course sites at the end of the drop/add period.

  • Manual Site Tools
  • You can create an HTML page in Resources using the Rich-Text Editor.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Apr 06, 2018

    What is the Resources tool?

    The Resources tool allows instructors/site owners to share a wide variety of files with their students or members within a site. Individual users also have their own Resources within their personal My Workspace area.

    Instructors or site owners can upload files (e.g. word processing documents, spreadsheets, slide presentations), create and post HTML (web) pages and simple text documents, and share library citations and links to useful web sites.

    Instructors or site owners can organize these files and links into folders and subfolders making it easier to locate and access items. Folders and files in Resources can be moved or reordered within a site or copied from one site to another.

    Files and folders can display contextual remarks, can be shown, hidden or viewable only during specific dates and times. Instructors can automatically notify site members by email that an item has been added to Resources.

    Resources also allows users to upload multiple files using the Drag-and-Drop interface, or using the WebDAV protocol.

    Note: For instructions on how to add this or any other tool to your site, see How do I add tools to my site?

    Manual Site Tools
  • You can create a plain text document in Resources.

    Note: Plain text documents have very limited text formatting (e.g. paragraph breaks).  To create a document using the Rich-Text Editor, choose Create HTML Page instead.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Users with appropriate permissions can add a Description to a file or folder in Resources.  Site participants can view this description by clicking on the blue i icon (Item description) located to the right of the item.

    You can also add the Copyright Status and a Copyright Alert to a file.  If selected, the Copyright Alert pops up when participants click on the file to access it.  They must Agree to the terms of the copyright restriction to view the file.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Aug 28, 2018

    How do I delete an assignment?