UVACollab HelpRecent Updates

Recent Updates

  • When a student clicks the Submit for Grading button on the last page of an assessment or the Table of Contents, they are taken to an Assessment Submission Warning screen to confirm their submission.  If they do not click the final Submit for Grading button to confirm, and the assessment is NOT timed, their responses may be saved, but the assessment will remain In Progress.

    Instructors do not have access to the content of In Progress assessments.  On the Total Scores screen, students with incomplete submissions would be listed as having No Submission recorded.

    However, if a student has not yet submitted a copy of an untimed assessment, an instructor can retrieve their submission using the Automatic Submission (Autosubmit) feature in Tests & Quizzes.

  • Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Sep 24, 2021

    How do I add a class roster?

  • Updated on: Sep 24, 2021

    How do I add a class roster?

    Note: Only instructors-of-record in the Student Information System (SIS) have permission to add class rosters to course sites in UVaCollab. Instructors-of-record include anyone designated as a Primary Instructor (PI), Secondary Instructor (SI), or Teaching Assistant (TA) for a given course/section in the SIS. Roles assigned in UVaCollab course sites do not apply in this case - only roles in the SIS determine who can view and add class rosters to sites in UVaCollab.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Manual Site Tools
  • Note: To complete these steps, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions within the site.

  • If you manually added participants to your site, you can also remove them.

    Students, instructors, or teaching assistants added to sites via official roster data from the Student Information System (SIS) cannot be manually removed. Instead, enrollment changes made in SIS will be reflected in course rosters in UVaCollab course sites after an overnight update. For example, a currently enrolled student who withdraws from a course in SIS today will automatically be removed from the roster in the associated UVaCollab course site the next day (following an overnight update).  If you would like to prevent a roster-added participant from accessing your site and receiving email notifications from it, you can set their status to Inactive.

    Note: UVaCollab does not destructively delete user data when removing users from a site. Therefore, if you remove a user from your site, and then later reinstate that user, all of the their activity within the site will reappear once you add them back into the site.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Sep 23, 2021

    How do I grade in Tests & Quizzes?

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Sep 23, 2021

    How do I grade in Tests & Quizzes?

    Most question types in Tests & Quizzes are automatically graded by the system. However, you will need to manually score short answer/essay questions, file uploads, and audio recordings. You may also adjust the auto-graded scores, add comments, or give partial credit.

    If you would like to send your assessment scores to the Gradebook so that they can be included in the course grade calculation or allow students to see an answer key or other feedback in Tests & Quizzes, see What are the Grading and Feedback options for an assessment?

    On the Total Scores screen for an assessment, you can see the total score each student received based on the points from auto-graded questions (such as multiple choice and true false).  You may adjust the students' scores and for students who submitted the assessment, you can add comments.

    For more information on manually grading individual student submissions or questions, see the following articles:

    Note:  

    • Tests & Quizzes will NOT automatically grade students with no submission.  If a student who did not submit an assessment should receive a grade of 0, you'll need to enter a 0 for their grade.
    • Comments cannot be added within the Tests & Quizzes tool for students with no submission and they do not have access to feedback for assessments they did not submit.  If you'd like to provide comments to a student with no submission, you might upload a file with comments to their folder in Drop Box.   If you'd like to print an answer key to an assessment to provide to students who did not submit, see How do I print an assessment (i.e. test or quiz)?
    • Once a grade has been saved for a student in Tests & Quizzes, you cannot delete the grade to remove it from the student's course grade.  If you inadvertently assign a score to a student who should not have received one for an assessment, and the assessment score is being sent to the Gradebook, you will need to remove the assessment score from the student's final grade using a Grade Exclusion in the Gradebook.