UVACollab HelpRecent Updates

Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Sep 18, 2020

    How do I create groups?

    Groups are subsets of participants for a given worksite in UVaCollab. Groups can be created on an ad hoc basis by instructors in course sites or by owners or administrators in collaboration sites. Groups are useful to organize study groups, project teams, and other non-official subsets of worksite participants. In course sites, each course roster section behaves like a group. i.e., group-aware tools recognize the section as a group.

    You may create groups in your site in several different ways:

    • Manually create and assign users to a group.
    • Create joinable groups that site participants can elect to join.
    • Automatically generate groups by user role, number of groups per site, or number of users per group.
    • Import group information from a file.

    WARNING: If an assignment or assessment has been released to groups, changing which groups have access to the assignment, or modifying or deleting a group after students have begun work on the assignment or assessment can result in the loss of submissions!

    Note:

    • By default, those in the Teaching Assistant role in a site cannot create groups.  If you are an instructor who would like for Teaching Assistants to be able to create groups in your site, please contact collab-support@virginia.edu and let us know the name of the site where you would like this permission added.
    • Each SIS course roster is treated as a group; you do not need to create a group for your roster.
    Manual Site Tools
  • Manual For Students
  • The Tool Menu can be customized by instructors or site administrators to modify the appearance of menu items in the site, including hiding or showing tools to site participants.

    In Site Templates, some tools are hidden by default.  For example, in the Activities Menu template, multiple instances of the Lessons tool for each Week are hidden by default so that instructors can develop course content and make it available to students as the course progresses.  You'll need to show each hidden lesson page to your site participants.

    Note: The Roster tool is hidden by default in ALL Course Site Templates because students would see a blank page when clicking on the tool.  Due to privacy restrictions, information contained in the Roster tool is restricted to site participants in the Instructor, Secondary Instructor, Teaching Assistant, Owner, or Administrator roles. (Access to official photos is further restricted to participants listed in SIS as instructors, secondary instructors, or teaching assistants for rosters containing those photos.)

    Manual Site Tools
  • If you manually added participants to your site, you can also remove them.

    Students, instructors, or teaching assistants added to sites via official roster data from the Student Information System (SIS) cannot be manually removed. Instead, enrollment changes made in SIS will be reflected in course rosters in UVaCollab course sites after an overnight update. For example, a currently enrolled student who withdraws from a course in SIS today will automatically be removed from the roster in the associated UVaCollab course site the next day (following an overnight update).  If you would like to prevent a roster-added participant from accessing your site and receiving email notifications from it, you can set their status to Inactive.

    Note: UVaCollab does not destructively delete user data when removing users from a site. Therefore, if you remove a user from your site, and then later reinstate that user, all of the their activity within the site will reappear once you add them back into the site.

    Manual Site Tools
  • Updated on: Sep 08, 2020

    How do I grade discussion forums?

    There are two ways in which you can access grade entry screens in the Forums tool: by topic or by student.

    Manual Communication
  • Updated on: Sep 08, 2020

    How do I grade discussion forums?

    Manual Site Tools