UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationSite Tools LessonsHow do I limit access to lesson page items to groups?

How do I limit access to lesson page items to groups?

Instructors can limit access (i.e. specify conditional release) to items added to a lesson page or subpage by group.

Note: The site must have existing groups in order to limit items to groups. See How do I create groups? for more information on creating groups.  Each official roster you have added to the site is automatically treated as a group.

Accessing the Lessons tool

Accessing the Lessons tool

To access the Lessons tool, select the Lessons link in the tools menu.  

Instructors using multiple instances of the tool in a single course site may wish to rename the instances to avoid confusion. Also, the tool may appear with another name if site templates are used to create course sites. In the Activities Grid template, the tool is named the Activities tool; in the SCPS template, the tool is named the Class Activities tool; and in the Activities Menu template, multiple instances of the tool are automatically added, each named for a week in the course. All of these names may be changed according to instructor preferences.  

The default page of each instance of the tool contains text that provides more information on the tool and its use.

Limiting access to the item

Limiting access to the item

To restrict access to lesson items to a particular group, locate the item to be restricted and select the Edit icon to the right of the item.

Edit the groups for the item

Edit the groups for the item

The system will display a list of item settings. To edit the groups that see the item, select the Edit the groups for which this item should be shown link.

Select the groups for the item

Select the groups for the item

Select the groups to see the item, then select Update Item to save the changes.

View the item

View the item

Items restricted to particular groups will list the name of the group.