How do I restore a deleted file in Resources or File Drop?
For up to a year after a file in Resources or File Drop has been moved to the Trash, the file is available to be restored.
- If you choose to restore a file, it will be automatically returned to the folder from which it was deleted (when you access the Trash, each file is listed under its containing folder). If the folder was also deleted, it will be restored along with the selected file(s).
- Empty folders that have been deleted do not display in the Trash. To recreate an empty folder, follow the steps in How do I create folders in Resources? or How do I create folders in File Drop?
- Only site administrators can restore deleted files in File Drop. If a student inadvertently deletes a file from their File Drop folder, they will need to ask an instructor to restore it.
Warning: Do NOT select Remove when you are trying to restore files in the Trash! Files you remove from within the Trash are permanently deleted.
Go to Resources or File Drop.
Select the Resources or File Drop tool from the tool menu of your site.
Select the Trash tab.
Select the file(s) to restore.
You will be taken to the Restoring items screen, where each file is listed under the name of the folder from which it was deleted. Check the box next to each file to restore.
Note: A restored file will be automatically returned to the folder from which it was deleted. If the containing folder was also deleted, it will be restored along with the selected file.
Scroll to the top of the Restoring items screen and click the Restore button.
Warning: Do NOT select Remove when you are trying to restore files! Files you remove from within the Trash are permanently deleted.
A confirmation message will appear at the top of the screen, indicating that the selected file(s) have been successfully restored.
Select Resources (Refresh Tool).
Click the Resources (Refresh Tool) link at the top of the screen to return to the main page of Resources.
View restored files.
Any restored files can be found in the folder(s) that contained them before they were deleted. If you restored files in a folder or subfolder you deleted, any containing folder will be available with the files inside it.