How do I edit the site information?

The Site Information can be edited at any time to modify the site title, set the language for the site, and provide relevant information about your site. The Site Information appears on the Home page of your site. Updating the Site Information with information about the purpose of the site/course can be a great way to introduce students and/or site participants to you and the site.

Video Guide

Step-by-Step Instructions

Go to Site Info.

Site Info tool in menu

Select the Site Info tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Click Edit Site Information.

Click Edit Site Information.

Edit the Site Title (optional and limited to 25 characters).

Edit the Site Title (optional and limited to 25 characters).

Change the Site Language (optional).

Change the Site Language (optional).

If desired, you can change the language for your site to any of the available languages listed.  Click on the desired language to select it.

Notes:

  • The site language defaults to the language that each individual viewing the site selected in their Preferences.  In most cases, this is English.
  • Some text (for example, text in certain UVaCollab messages or buttons) may display in English in your site, regardless of the selected site language.  If a tool is not shown in the desired language, you can customize its name: Rename Tools.

Enter a site Description.

Enter a site Description.

Use the Rich-Text Editor in the Description box to enter or edit information about your site. The information entered into the description area will appear on the site's Home page.

Enter a short description (optional).

Enter a short description (optional).

You may also enter a Short Description (with a maximum of 80 characters).

Note: Site participants who have chosen to display site tabs with their Course name/description will see text from the short description in their site tabs instead of the Site Title.

Edit the Site Contact information.

Edit the Site Contact information.

Enter the name and email address for the site contact. (This is typically the instructor or site owner.)

Click Continue.

Click Continue.

Click Finish to save changes.

Click Finish to save changes.

You'll be shown a confirmation screen with your changes highlighted in red.  Click Finish to save your changes.