What is the Waitlisted Student role?

When students attempt to enroll in a course that has reached maximum capacity, they are placed on a waitlist. Many times, students wish to attend lectures, complete assignments and assessments, and participate in a course in other ways while on the waitlist, so that they will not fall behind if they are able to fully enroll in the course before the end of the add/drop period.

Instructors may utilize the Waitlisted Student role by adding the entire waitlist as a roster, or by adding individual students to their course sites with the role. Both options allow waitlisted students to access resources and complete tasks in the site until they transition from the waitlist into full enrollment in the course, or the add/drop period comes to a close. Adding a waitlist roster allows instructors to add all waitlisted students to their course sites automatically, and removes remaining waitlisted students at the end of the add/drop period.

Students in the Waitlisted Student role have the same default permissions as students in the Student role, meaning that they can complete the same tasks, and be evaluated in the same ways, as fully enrolled students. For example, waitlisted students can:

  • Access text content (e.g., readings in the Resources folder; topics and posts in the Forums tool; etc.)
  • Access multimedia content (e.g., video or audio files in the Kaltura Media Gallery tool)
  • Access, complete, and submit assignments and assessments in the Assignments and Tests & Quizzes tools
  • Participate in discussions in the Forums and Discussion and Private Messages tools
  • Edit collaborative documents in the Wiki, Wiki (Confluence), and NowComment tools
  • Receive grades
  • Receive messages sent to the site email address

When waitlists expire at the end of the add/drop period, any waitlisted students added to course sites via waitlist rosters who are still on the waitlist (i.e., waitlisted students who have not fully enrolled in the course) will be removed from those course sites.

Note that adding and removing waitlisted students in course sites does not replace the process for managing wait lists and permission lists in the Student Information System (SIS).

Note: Adding and removing waitlisted students in course sites does not replace the process for managing wait lists and permission lists in the Student Information System (SIS).