UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationGetting Started Course and Collaboration SitesHow do I ensure that links to my content in my site will migrate into a new site?

How do I ensure that links to my content in my site will migrate into a new site?

Thanks to UVACollab's link migration features, links to resources, assignments, forums, and discussions inserted in a site via the Server Browser will migrate if this content is transferred into a new site. For example, if an instructor creates an interactive syllabus in the Syllabus tool with links to readings in the Resources folder, and subsequently duplicates the site, the links to readings in the new site will function just as they did in the old site.

Content and links inserted via the Server Browser can be transferred into new sites using the following methods:

Some links will need to be modified or restored after content is transferred into a new site:

  • When the contents of the Assignments tool and the Forums tool are transferred into a new site, assignments and forums items are placed in Draft mode. Links to these items will function correctly, but the items will need to be published in order for them to be accessible to students. Items that include dates will also need to be updated to reflect the dates in the current semester.
  • When the contents of the Tests & Quizzes tool are transferred into a new site, all items are placed in the Working Copies tab. Therefore, links to these items do not migrate; the items will need to be published and re-linked in the new site.

For more information on inserting links through the Server Browser, see How do I create a link to an activity in the Rich-Text Editor?

For more information on migrating content (and associated links) to a new site using the Duplicate Site function, see How do I duplicate a site?

For more information on migrating content (and associated links) to a new site using the Import from Site function, see How do I import content from one site to another?

Editing content that has been placed into draft or unpublished mode

When the contents of the Assignments tool and the Forums tool are transferred into a new site, assignments and forums items are placed in Draft mode. Links to these items will function correctly, but the items will need to be published in order for them to be accessible to students. Items that include dates will also need to be updated to reflect the dates in the current semester.

When the contents of the Tests & Quizzes tool are transferred into a new site, all items are placed in the Working Copies tab. Therefore, links to these items do not migrate; the items will need to be published and re-linked in the new site.