Idle Session Timeout and Alert

UVACollab sessions expire after 2 hours of inactivity. Responding promptly to an idle session timeout alert will keep your UVACollab session alive and preserve your data.

Working in the UVACollab editor does not constitute activity. To avoid loss of data while working in the editor, be sure to save your work (as a draft) every 15 minutes or so until you are ready to post the data.

How the Idle Session Timeout Alert Works

1. Fifteen (15) minutes before your UVACollab session expires, the idle session timeout alert will appear as a dialog box on a transparent white screen that overlays your UVACollab window. The dialog box displays a message that includes a timer that counts down how many minutes are left before your session expires.

2. Click the Keep My Session Active button to keep your current session active for another 2 hours and continue working in UVACollab.  If you do not click the Keep My Session Active button before your session expires, the session will terminate and you will be returned to the UVACollab gateway page to log in again.  Any unsaved work may be lost.  

The idle session timeout alert may remain on the screen after the timer has expired. However, if you click the Keep My Session Active button after the timer has expired, it will not preserve your session—you will be returned to the UVACollab gateway page to log in again, and any unsaved work may be lost.