UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationGetting Started ProfileHow do I modify my profile preferences?

How do I modify my profile preferences?

On your preferences page in Profile, you can modify your email notification settings, choose to use your UVA ID photo as your profile image, and change your profile widget settings.

Go to Home.

When you first log into UVACollab, you are placed in your Home site.  If you are viewing another UVACollab site, select the Home button in the favorites bar at the top of the screen, or in your My Sites list, to access it.

Go to Profile.

Select Profile from the tool menu in your Home site.

Select the Preferences tab.

Select the Preferences tab in the menu bar near the top of the screen.

Modify your email notification preferences.

The system will display a list of preferences, beginning with email notifications. By default, users are notified via email when they are added to a new site by another user. To change this preference, select the radio button in the On or Off column.

Modify your profile image settings.

Users may select an image to appear as part of their profile. To use your official UVA ID photo as the profile image, select Use the official institutional image as my profile image.

Your profile image is visible to other people in the following locations:

  • Roster: An instructor or teaching assistant can choose to view profile photos in the Roster tool.
  • Discussions: Your profile photo will be visible with each of your discussion posts.
  • Chat: Your profile photo will be visible with each of your chat messages.
  • Assignments: Your profile photo will be visible with each of your assignment submissions for the instructors and teaching assistants.

Modify your picture widget settings.

To make your pictures visible on your profile to other users, select the Show my pictures checkbox and verify that the privacy setting for Who can view my pictures? is set to Everyone. For more information about privacy settings, see How do I modify my privacy settings?

To hide your pictures from your profile, uncheck the Show my pictures checkbox.

Select Save settings.

After making all of the desired changes, scroll to the bottom of the page and select the Save settings button.