UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationGetting Started General InformationHow do I allow another instructor to copy my course content?

How do I allow another instructor to copy my course content?

You can give another instructor permission to copy the content in a site you own. For example, if another instructor or teaching assistant in your department will be teaching a class you have taught before, you can use one of the methods below to allow the instructor to copy your original course site.

If you have been added to someone else's site as a Secondary Instructor or a Teaching Assistant, you can reuse the content from the site.

Add the person to your existing course site.

Follow the steps in How do I manually add people to my site? to add the person as a Secondary Instructor or Teaching Assistant in the site. This will grant them permission to create a copy of the site or import content into their own site.

WARNING: Adding a person as a Secondary Instructor in a course site grants that person access to all of your students' submissions and grades, as well as the ability to modify those grades. Teaching Assistants have more restrictions, but can still access and change many grades. Secondary Instructors and Teaching Assistants can also edit or delete all content within the site.

To prevent the risk of inadvertent changes to your course materials or students' grades, follow the steps below to create a copy of the site first. Then, add the person to the new site.

Create a copy of the site to share.

Create a copy of the site without student data.

Follow the steps in How do I create a site copied from a previous site? to create a copy of the site. To prevent adding student data to the new site, do not add a roster when prompted. Instead, scroll down to the bottom of the page, enter a name for the site, and select Continue.

Add the person to the new site.

In the new site, follow the steps in How do I manually add people to my site? to add the person as a Secondary Instructor or Teaching Assistant in the site. This will grant them permission to create their own copy of the site or import content into an existing site.

Reuse content from a site.

Once someone has access to a site as a Secondary Instructor or a Teaching Assistant, they can reuse the site's content by creating a copy of the site or by importing content into an existing site. For more information, see How do I reuse content from one site in another site?