UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationCommunication MessagesHow do I change message permissions for participants in different roles?

How do I change message permissions for participants in different roles?

This feature gives the option to regulate each role's message composing permissions.

Accessing the Messages tool via the tools menu in the site

Accessing the Messages tool via the tools menu in the site

To access the Messages tool in a site, select the Messages link in the tools menu.

Accessing the Messages tool via Message Center in the site

Accessing the Messages tool via Message Center in the site

The Message Center area in the Overview tool in the site displays the number of new messages in the site and also allows users to access the tool.

To access the Messages tool from the Message Center in the Overview tool in the site, select the New Messages link or the message number.

Accessing the Messages tool via the Message Center in My Workspace

Accessing the Messages tool via the Message Center in My Workspace

By default, the Message Center area of the Overview tool on the Home page displays a list of all sites of which the user is a part, along with the number of new messages in each site, and also allows users to access the tool.  

To access the Messages tool from the Message Center on the Home page, select the message number to the left of the site title in the Message Center Notifications area.

Changing message permissions

Changing message permissions

To change message permissions, select Permissions in the menu bar near the top of the screen.

Change permissions for all site participants

Change permissions for all site participants

By default, participants in all roles are able to send messages to all participants, all members of a particular group, or all participants in a particular role. Hidden groups are displayed only to participants in the Instructor and Secondary Instructor roles.

Permissions are organized by permission and role. To change permissions for all site participants in a particular role, locate the permission and role in the table, and enable or disable the permission by selecting or deselecting the checkbox.

Change permissions for specific rosters

Change permissions for specific rosters

To change permissions for all site participants on a specific roster, select the roster from the Set permissions for dropdown menu, then locate the permission and role in the table and enable or disable the permission by selecting or deselecting the checkbox.

Save changes

Save changes

After making any desired changes, select Save.