UVACollab HelpUVACollab DocumentationCommunication AnnouncementsHow do I change Announcements tool permissions?

How do I change Announcements tool permissions?

By default, instructors and site owners and administrators have full permissions in the Announcements tool; they can create, edit and delete announcements and access draft versions of unpublished announcements.  Those in the Member role in collaboration sites may read announcements, create announcements and edit their own announcements, but may not edit announcements created by others.  Students in course sites may read announcements that have been posted by instructors and create and edit their own group announcements, but not announcements created by others.

Instructors or site administrators can modify the permissions in the Announcements tool to grant site members additional permissions or revoke existing permissions.

Go to the Announcements tool.

Select the Announcements tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Select Permissions.

Modify the permissions for the desired role(s).

  1. In the column for a given role (e.g., Student), check the box next to each permission you would like to allow. (Deselecting a box will remove the corresponding permission.)
  2. Click Save to save your changes.

In the example pictured above, students have been given access to Create announcements, and they can edit an announcement that they created themselves (Edit own announcements), but not the announcements created by others.

Note: You may see different roles listed depending on the roles which exist in your site. A role must be present in the site in order for you to modify its permissions. For instance, in a collaboration site, you will see role for Members (i.e. students/participants) and Owners/Administrators (i.e. site owners/instructors).